Club standards

As an extra motivation for those members who like to race from time to time, the club introduced the club standard awards a few years ago. The rules, together with mens standards and womens standards are attached below. In essence, the challenge is to achieve three race times in the year that are better than the standard level you are aiming at – those who achieve either their first award, or the next standard up, will then receive their award at the club’s annual awards dinner.

Club standards were awarded in 2017 to:


  • Christie Jones


  • Sharon Eshelby


  • Jon Wilson
  • Andy Nicholls
  • Liz Goodbourn
  • Tam Nicol


  • Julie Bass (also Diamond County Standard)
  • Natalie Teece
  • Alan Thompson
  • David Hamdorff

Club standards were awarded in 2016 to:


  • Mike Williams


  • Sarah Procter
  • Ray Walker
  • Vanessa Walker
  • Jon Wilson
  • Brian Walkling
  • Dan Valencia
  • Wayne Hackett
  • Michael Cooke
  • John Hudson


  • Rob Beers
  • David Hall
  • Greeba Heard
  • Luke Eggleston
  • Alan Thompson
  • Katie Hateley


  • Darren Glover

Club standards were awarded in 2015 to:

  • Greg Pettingill (Gold, M55)
  • Iain Howe (Silver, M50)
  • Will Blythe (Silver, M40)
  • Mark Stoneley (Silver, M40)
  • Tony Allen (Bronze, M50)
  • Andy Nicholls (Bronze, M40)
  • Clive Kent (Bronze, MOpen)
  • Luke Eggleston (Bronze, MOpen)

Club standards were awarded in 2014 to:

  • Jason Barton (Gold, MOpen)
  • Neil Jaggard (Silver, M55)
  • Vicki Lowe (Silver, F45)
  • Shane Sharkey (Bronze, MOpen)
  • Ben Pickard (Bronze, MOpen)

Attached below are the rules and qualifying times (the qualifying ‘year’ currently runs from 1 December to the following 30 November).

Stilton Striders Club Standards

Stilton Striders Mens standards

Stilton Striders Womens standards

Leicestershire standards

In addition to our own system set out above, the Leicestershire Vision 2020 Athletics Network, of which the club is a part, has also now introduced a similar system.  Striders can now claim a county standards certificate – deadline for qualifying races is 31 December, with applications by 31 January.  Details are at the Network website.